Eggcorn Forum

Discussions about eggcorns and related topics

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Registrations are currently closed because of a technical problem. Please send email to if you wish to register.

The forum administrator reserves the right to request users to plausibly demonstrate that they are real people with an interest in the topic of eggcorns. Otherwise they may be removed with no further justification. Likewise, accounts that have not been used for posting may be removed.

Thanks for your understanding.

Chris -- 2018-04-11

#1 2008-06-24 11:04:18

Brooksie99

oogle < < ogle

This is one I’ve heard for some time in casual conversation, but I’ve begun to see it in formal writing. Obviously, the person is referring to visual admiration of someone; usually, quite openly doing so but falling short of leering.

I’m a school librarian, and we recently had a Garfield book challenged for its content. A college educated parent wrote a letter complaining that Odie was “oogling” a scantily clad female cartoon dog. This, of course, is worthy of a good, old fashioned book burning (just kidding)! My college educated boyfriend, much to my chagrin, has also used oogle in conversation.

Is it a true eggcorn or just a near miss? I suspect it’s evolved because many aren’t sure how to pronounce ogle. I think the eggcorn imagery is there, as oogle has an onomatopoeic quality to it. When you’re admiring someone “ooh” comes to mind more than “oh”; you’re also look*ing at someone, and the sound is closer to *oogle.

Etymological note: ogle is from Low German for eye which Webster’s spells as oog.

#2 2008-06-24 12:20:09

DavidTuggy
Eggcornista
Website

Re: oogle < < ogle

This one’s standard for several people I know. I agree that “oohing and aahing” is probably somehow involved. We don’t talk about ‘ogles’ anymore, so the other form has become opaque.

*If the human mind were simple enough for us to understand,
we would be too simple-minded to understand it* .