Eggcorn Forum

Discussions about eggcorns and related topics

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Registrations are currently closed because of a technical problem. Please send email to if you wish to register.

The forum administrator reserves the right to request users to plausibly demonstrate that they are real people with an interest in the topic of eggcorns. Otherwise they may be removed with no further justification. Likewise, accounts that have not been used for posting may be removed.

Thanks for your understanding.

Chris -- 2018-04-11

#1 2010-07-07 22:09:47

erincolleen

"sun cream" for "sunscreen"?

I’ve got to send a big thanks to Merl Reagle for his recent eggcorn-themed crossword puzzle in the Philly Inquirer. I’m an amateur this whole eggcorn thing, so apologies if I’m supposed to analyze the two words on this forum. Some contributions included analyses; some did not. The rules didn’t clarify whether this should go here or in “Eggcornology”, so I put it here.

I recently stumbled upon an argument about whether the correct term is “sun cream” or “sunscreen”. Since the two seem to be used interchangeably, I wasn’t sure if it qualifies. Thoughts?

#2 2010-07-07 22:20:17

jorkel
Eggcornista

Re: "sun cream" for "sunscreen"?

Oooooh. I love it. I don’t have time to investigate the details, but at first blush it looks like a winner.

#3 2010-07-08 13:00:43

JuanTwoThree
Eggcornista

Fools rush in. Here goes:

I don’t get it. Which is the eggcorn? At least in the UK both terms are used. Neither is a derivative of the other.

“Sunscreen – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Sunscreen, also commonly known as sun cream, is a lotion, spray, gel or other topical product that absorbs or reflects some of the sun’s ultraviolet (UV) ...”

“An adult should apply a handful of sun cream, equivalent to 30 to 40g. www.netdoctor.co.uk/travel

“As Britain swelters, school head bans sun cream for children www.dailymail.co.uk